top of page
  • Foto del escritorPierre

10 Phrasal Verbs to Use at the Office

While it’s true that you can use (almost!) any phrasal verb in an office environment, here are 10 that I think are especially interesting AND easy to use!


Each phrasal verb is followed by the Spanish translation and some examples. At the end of this page, you’ll find a link to a quiz where you can put your new phrasal verbs to the test!! Good luck



1) STAND OUT (destacar)




  • We intereviewed lots of candidates, but one girl really stood out.

  • How can we make this product stand out on the shelves?

  • I think I really stood out at the meeting – I was the only one under 50!


2) GO OVER (revisar/analisar o salirse del presupuesto)

  • I’ll need to go over my emails to find the information.

  • Can we start this meeting by going over any problems you had?

  • We went over budget by more than €1 million.



3) CUT (SOMEONE) OFF (interrumpir)




  • I’m sorry to cut you off, but we have to finish this meeting now!

  • I tried to give my opinion but I was continously cut off by my colleagues.



4) LOOK INTO (investigar)

  • Have you heard the rumours? – Yes, we’re looking into them.

  • We looked into John’s idea, but it’s going to be too expensive.



5) BUMP INTO (SOMEONE) (encontrar por casualidad)

  • I bumped into John in the cantine today. He said it’s his last day.

  • It was really nice bumping into you today!

AN ALTERNATIVE WITH THE SAME MEANING: RUN INTO



6) SPEAK UP (hablar mas alto o dar su opinion)

  • Sorry, could you speak up? I’m having trouble hearing you.

  • If you have something to say, speak up – we’d like to hear it!



7) BURN OUT (agotarse)

  • At this rate, I’m going to burn out at age 30!

  • If you burn out now, you’ll never survive to get a promotion.

This word is also used as a noun: burnout



8) WARM UP (TO SOMEONE/SOMETHING) (empezar a apreciar o cambiar de idea sobre algo/alguien)

  • I didn’t like my boss at first but I’m warming up to him.

  • I’ve warmed up to the idea. I think it has potential.



9) PULL (SOMETHING) OFF (conseguir algo muy difícil/sacar adelante)


  • I don’t know how he pulled off the campaign in so little time – amazing!

  • I can’t believe it, but thanks to all our hard work, we pulled it off!


10) TURN OUT (terminar/resultar)

  • We were all worried about the result but it turned out really well!

  • Good luck! Let me know how it turns out!



9 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page